Weekend Events

Saturday Sweat

I set my alarm for early Saturday morning because I knew that if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have an opportunity to sweat. I made up this Crossfit-like workout that worked every body part. This workout was great because it didn’t require any equipment! I did use a yoga mat to ease the pain of the burpees (tough on the knees) and a timer feature on the MyWOD app that has both a standard timer and a tabata timer.

This workout would only take about 20-25 minutes (with the legs portion), but I put a few breaks between each set. I got a 24 on the abs portion (13 & 11) and a 25 on the legs portion (12 and 13). The jumps got tough!

Saturday Eats

As I was making dishes for a baby shower I whipped up some Oatmeal Minus the Oats (from Tina’s blog). I didn’t have any egg whites so I added two eggs instead and was surprised that I got fairly similar results. I was thrilled to realize that I had a nearly empty jar of almond butter to use as a bowl 🙂 I am not fully paleo (life happens and it can’t be perfect), but I do try to avoid starches so this meal is a delicious meal to replace the a.m. oats!

Photos from a beautiful baby shower:

Remember how I said that I tried to avoid starch? Yea, that didn’t happen at lunch. Every dish had either dairy or starch so I went with it. I had a ham/veggie wrap, a tiny slice of veggie pizza, about 5 chips with taco dip, and two slices of quiche (unpictured) for my dish.

And my weakness … dessert. I ate a s’mores pop and a small slice of cake (with extra icing). I did go back for an extra scoop of icing and had another cake pop at home.  Honesty is the best policy!

I met up with a group of friends for a bday party at a chain restaurant. I had an apple before I left in hopes of sticking to healthy food at dinner. I had a cashew chicken salad with light balsamic vinaigrette and one glass of Chardonnay with lots of water. I was able to avoid the bread basket and left before dessert came. Dinner success! A few college friends were out as well so I met them for a drink. Unfortunately someone ordered me a beer (something I would usually stay away from) so I drank it anyways. I got pretty tired and started with a headache so we headed home. At home I grabbed a handful of almonds/raisins (great combo and too easy sometimes) and had a chocolate filled graham cracker.

Sunday Eats

I woke up today feeling sore (hopefully from my workout and not from an oncoming sickness) and my intake yesterday has left me feeling a bit hungover. I think a little reflection is in order regarding how foods make me feel and what the pros/cons are for eating things like sugar, dairy, and starch. I think I also need to experiment a little to see if just one of these things is a culprit. Yesterday, I overdid them all.

A smoothie is my favorite way to jam in nutrients when I’m feeling sub-par. I used
1/2 c almond milk
1/2 banana
1/2 c frozen blueberries
1 c spinach
1/4 avocado
2 tbs flax seed
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
2/3 c water

Another busy day ahead! I doubt I’ll get in any movement today since I slept so late.

Leave a Reply

