Making Things Happen

“Good things don’t come to those who wait; good things come to those who work their asses off.” -Pinterest (something like that)

Saturday started with another impressive round of OMG pancakes. I’ve officially dubbed them the new recipient of the greatest pancake recipe. I topped mine with some Kerrygold butter, blueberry sauce, and almond butter. Enjoyed with a cup of coffee with one stevia packet and 2 tsp SO Delicious Hazelnut creamer.

The weather was very springlike so I took myself on a lovely jog. I kept around an 8:30-9:00 minute pace and ran about 3.3 miles in 29 minutes. I ran by my crossfit box and was thrilled to see the class blaring music from a car in the parking lot so they could do the workout out in the sunshine. I love our group! After my run, I joined them for a specialty class on muscle ups. One of my goals was to get a muscle up before they appeared in an Open workout and definitely before my competition in April. We each took a turn on the bar and several people got one right away – I didn’t. We then tried on the rings. To make it official: I hate the rings. I have no control over them and feel like a fish flopping out of water. We talked about progressions and then took some time to work on our own. I watched people, tried a few, had someone tape me so I could watch myself, and tried a few more. There were only about 4 of us left and I got one more piece of advice. I tried again and bam – I got up! I was able to get a total of 3 …. None of them were pretty (the bruises on my wrist will prove that I still need work) but each and every one will count in a WOD. Hallelujah! I’m going to try to get at least 3-5 per class to keep at it. Man it felt good and it shows that hard work pays off. Hello, Crossfit high!

The rest of my day wasn’t very exciting. I wasn’t super hungry when I got home (a rarity) so I took an apple and larabar to run errands and ate around 2. I did pick up a lollipop on a twist stick along the way. I hadn’t had one of those in years! I made a kale salad with avocado and pepperoni around 3. Dinner was a Cobb salad (minus the cheese) with olive oil and vinegar from the mall food Court. When I finally got home I had a glass of chocolate Zico and 3 dates.

#Weekly14: 7.795

#220beforeIDo: 7.795

Leave a Reply

