The Proof: ‘Cindy’

When my alarm went off on Wednesday, all I wanted to do was roll over and go back to bed! I am exhausted and ready for some extra sleep. However, I don’t give myself any time to snooze in the morning so I got up and hoped that some early morning movement would get my blood flowing and wake me up. I did two rounds of tabata work: the first was composed of cardio movements (side to side lunges, plank jacks, running in place, and mountain climbers) and the second worked abs (weighted lemon squeezers and weighted russian twists).  I managed a few good rounds on the ab workout, but overall it was nothing too impressive.

I wanted a pancake for breakfast, but didn’t feel like pulling up a recipe so I assumed I’d be able to combine the ingredients from experience.  I threw in typical items that go in pancakes: 1 banana, 1 egg, 1 tbs almond flour, vanilla, egg whites, a splash of almond milk, a dash of baking powder, 1 scoop protein powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  I mixed it all up and noticed it was a little runny.  I made the pancake in a big pan and I have to say it didn’t turn out so well.  Luckily I was just going to cut it all up anyways 🙂  I topped my pancake with blueberry sauce and almond butter – PB & J pancake 🙂  I also had a much-needed cup of coffee!  I snacked on my apple mid-morning.

Lunch was a yummy salad of romaine, tuna, almonds, raisins, avocado,and sauerkraut.  The ‘kraut adds a lot to the flavor of the salad.  It’s one of those foods that my family only ate around St Patrick’s Day (on Reubens) or Thanksgiving, but I really love it!  And, it’s cheap!  After work we had a baby shower for a co-worker and while I tried to get healthy options (fruit, carrots, and an apple cinnamon trail mix,) a reese’s cup appeared on my plate.  In typical me-fashion, one turned into three and then I had to leave early so I’d stop eating.  Boo.  I followed up my unplanned snack with my planned snack: a Kind Bar.

Before I go into the workout portion of my day, let me just say that I LOVE CROSSFIT!  I was excited for the WOD because I had done Cindy during my first week of Crossfit in October ’12 and wanted to see how I had improved.  I knew I would be able to Rx it whereas in October, I used a green band for pull-ups and did the push ups on my knees.  I know I rave about the timer feature on the myWOD app, but it’s really used to track workouts.  I was able to pull up my score and comments from October which showed that I had done 12 rounds of Cindy in 20 minutes.  I was anxious to see how I fared on the deadlift at 130lbs.  My max is 155, but 130 is still pretty heavy for 60 deadlifts.

We have been adding a lot of mobility to our classes, which I enjoy!  When the WOD started, I managed about 15 deadlifts without taking a break and then broke the second half into a few sets.  For me, deadlifts can’t be done too fast or I ruin my form which means a hurt back … not something I want!  I took a look at the clock when I started Cindy and it showed 2:30.  The first few rounds on Cindy went awesome, but I started to fatigue on the push ups by the 4th round.  I had to break them into 3 sets.  For some reason, push-ups gas me after about 15 😦  I managed to finish Cindy  at about 12:30, meaning it took me almost half the time to complete almost as many sets as I did last October.  YES!  The last 30 deadlifts were tough, but I finished the WOD in 15:07.  I was super pleased and even more proud of my classmates who have come so far and put up an impressive 12 mins!  After class I wanted to try a few muscle-ups and managed to get three of them!  Again,they weren’t pretty, but they counted!

When I got home, my fiance was about to head out for a run and in a crazy moment, I decided to join him.  He said it was only a 3 mile run and thankfully he didn’t push the pace, but mid-run he changed to a 4 mile run.  I managed to run 3 miles before my legs got really tired and started getting super sore.  I made it to 3.7 miles and decided to walk the last .5 mile home.  Adding 4.2 miles to my totals 🙂

Since I had done two workouts and dinner would take a while I had a shake with almond milk, water, and chocolate progenex.   We marinated some chicken in sesame-ginger dressing and served it with baked sweet potato fries and steamed stir-fry veggies.

Luckily, I had some things to get done after dinner and since I wasn’t sitting on the couch watching tv, I didn’t even think about dessert 🙂  I did make sure that at 8pm I was in front of my computer for the live 13.2 announcement: 10min AMRAP of 5 s-2-o (75lb), 10 deadlift (75lb), and 15 box jumps.  The two women who competed last night were amazing and crushed this WOD!   Crossfitter or not, it’s worth watching!

#Weekly14: 8.2

#220beforeIDo: 19.815

Leave a Reply

