Kale and Crying

I woke up a bit sore from my 2nd attempt of 13.2 so I took 10 minutes to foam roll and do some Sun Salutations.  I wanted to start my Monday on a healthy note so I tried to re-create the Green Machine from Houston … it wasn’t the same, but still good.  I think the key would be to add apple juice.  My Green Smoothie consisted of spinach, blueberries, 1 banana, 1c almond milk, 1 scoop vanilla Progenex, 1/4 avocado, and 1 Tbsp almond butter.  The morning was a rough one where nothing seemed to go right so I had some coffee.  It took me until lunch to finish it!  I had my apple right before lunch as well.

I don’t normally create my own recipes and this one wasn’t super original, but my Kale Salad lunch was so good that I want to share! I combined ideas from a multitude of finds on Pinterest.

Kale Salad

2 baked chicken breasts, cubed

several cups of kale

1 bag blueberry craisins

1 bag shelled pistachios

1/4 c sliced almonds

Optional: Shaved parmesan

Dressing: Mix 1/4 c white wine vinegar, 1/4 c olive oil, 1 Tbsp sugar, salt/pepper to taste

Directions: Mix dry ingredients and top with dressing. Allow to sit overnight for dressing flavors to soak into kale.

I had a Larabar about an hour before driving to Crossfit.  While I felt OK from Sunday, this WOD definitely was a tough one for me.  So tough that I was near tears during the middle because my body didn’t do what I wanted it to.  Over a month ago we did a WOD with Overhead Squats and I used 55lbs and felt I could have done more so I was more than ready to attempt to Rx the workout with 65lbs on my bar.  The first round went great, but I struggled from there on out.  I had trouble finding balance, my arms were going too far back or too far forward and I had to bail out on a few and drop the bar quite a few times during my 10 reps.  I also dropped to my knees for the push-ups during round 3.  I was so frustrated with myself that I really almost started bawling during the WOD.  Thank goodness I was near a wall and could turn myself around for the last few rounds.  Mid-WOD, my coach said that she expected us all to finish within 15 minutes … I finished at 14:56 – barely made it!  My coaches are great and reassured me by saying that I was using many of the same muscles that I used in 13.2 and my body may be more fatigued than I realized.  After the WOD we worked on strength piece regarding pull-ups.  I did a mix on strict pull-ups and negative pull-ups with a kipping pull-up to reach the top of the bar.  

At home I was just in a crummy mood.  Dinner was a bowl of brussel sprouts and sausage.  I modified Tina’s recipe by adding almond milk and shaved parmesan, garlic powder, salt and pepper instead of the Laughing Cow wedges.  Something about cheese that doesn’t need to be refrigerated gives me the creeps.  I spent the rest of my night grading papers and drank about 1/2 the bottle of Chocolate Zico.

#Weekly14: .5

#220beforeIDo: 21.315

Leave a Reply

