Saturday Mix

Aah – the weekend! Weekends are my chance to catch up on sleep. On Saturday I could have slept so late, but finally got up at 8:30. I didn’t have anything in mind for breakfast so I searched #paleobreakfast on instagram and was pleasantly surprised at the number of photos! I scoured my kitchen and ended up making 2 scrambled eggs and 2 scrambled egg whites mixed with a Garden Veggie burger and a scoop of Jalapeno Jam and a grapefruit on the side. It was surprisingly really delicious!

I did some work while sipping a small cup of coffee and eventually had an apple with some almond butter. I kept my almond butter ‘smears’ tiny and only put them on about every other bite so I didn’t overdo it.

I decided to take another day off from a WOD – maybe it’s my nagging shoulder pain or maybe it’s the fear of getting in my own head during a workout and losing control of my emotions again. I did to the gym in an ‘open gym’ atmosphere to work on some 13.3 skills. I found out that when I moved outside on Weds for wall balls I was using an 11 ft target which is why I had to jump to get the ball there which is probably why it was so hard. I hope it makes the 9 ft target easier when I tackle 13.3. I spent about an hour at the gym and can’t say I left feeling confident in a plan for double unders. Sometimes I could get 3-4 in a row and other times I couldn’t get one. Sometimes the alternating single under/double under rhythm worked and sometimes it didn’t. My plan for 13.3 is to break the 150 wall balls into groups of 20-15-10 so I have some energy (and hopefully time) to get in 90 double unders. It may take me 40 attempts before I get them, but my hope is to get them finished. If I don’t, I don’t, as long as I do my best and stay calm. I need to think of a mantra before I go. I ran 2 miles home from the gym and walked the other .6 which puts me at my highest weekly mileage total yet!

I was feeling lazy so lunch was tuna (still in the can) drizzled with Tessemae’s Lemon Chesapeake and a smoothie containing 1c almond milk, 1/2 banana, a handful of blueberries, 1/4 avocado, 1 scoop progenex, and a handful of spinach. It was super creamy – just how I like it!

A trip to Costco meant a lot of sampling: a few pieces of kettle corn, a cracker with tuna(made with mayo), and 2 samples of dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds.

My daily eats continued to go downhill. We went out to eat with friends who had a deal for 4 appetizers, entrees, and desserts. I made a cocktail while getting ready with 6oz pineapple juice, 1 shot citrus vodka, lime juice, and apple cider vinegar. It may be my go-to drink this summer, very refreshing! I had a small glass of wine before dinner and one during dinner which puts me at my weekly max goal of 4 drinks. My appetizer was awesome (arugula salad with mango, bacon, and avocado),follow by chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes, and a creme brûlée with a chocolate ganache base for dessert. I ate all of my salad, avoided most of the potatoes, and are about 1/3 dessert and I was still stuffed to a gross level. I also realized that since creme means ‘cream’ the dessert was probably all dairy which means my stomach issues might continue for a few days. Darn.

 

#Weekly14: 11.35

#220beforeIDo: 32.165

Leave a Reply

