13.3 Check!

Sunday was dedicated to getting work done, prepping for the week, and finishing 13.3. I was three for three!

My breakfast was a copy of yesterday’s, but I added some kale and used a link of venison sausage as my meat. Amazing! I broke out the foam roller for a bit because I was surprised that my quads were a bit sore from yesterday – maybe all the jump roping?

As the time got closer for me to go to the box, I mixed up a smoothie that my coach recommended to give me more energy. More on his recommendations later, but I blended 1/2c almond milk, a large tbs almond butter, spinach, a handful berries, and a small apple. The smoothie was a little chunky for my liking, but the apple added a nice new flavor.

Obviously, I’ve put off completing 13.3 (12 minute AMRAP – 150 Wall Balls, 90 Double Unders, 30 Muscle Ups) because I’ve been in my own head this week. I am trying to do so well on the Open WODs but I’m not sure why – I have no plans of going to regionals, I know I won’t make it, and it’s not even a goal of mine. My other training has suffered because I’ve been so set on succeeding on this one WOD a week. I didn’t feel great going into today, but my mood always changes when I get around the fellow competitors.  Everyone is so supportive, so friendly, so helpful, so motivating – it’s a great atmosphere!  I practiced some WBs at the 9 ft target – we usually use 8ft and that 1 ft is much more challenging, especially for someone who is barely 5ft!  Most of the ‘good’ jump ropes were being used so I picked up an old one that had a lot of bends in it and somehow, I consistently managed to get DUs using alternating single/double jumps.  Needless to say, I guarded that rope like it was $1 million!  After lots of warming up, a 400m jog, foam rolling, squats, etc. my heat finally came.  I had worked out a plan for the WBs (3 sets of 20, 4 sets of 15, and 3 sets of 10 with a 5-7 second break in between) and asked my judge not to say the words “no rep” (even if it was) and to tell me when I got to 125 WBs and 90 DUs.  I wanted to just zone out and not stress about how many more I had left of each skill.

3-2-1-BEEP!  The WBs were hard.  I did the first set and managed to do a few extra (in preparation for some no reps down the road), but the plan went downhill from there.  I knew when I had a ‘no rep’ (the ball didn’t hit the 9ft target) and I let it hit the ground after those to get myself set up again.  I was definitely doing about 5 at a time at one point and finally he told me I was at 124.  I finished the WBs at 9:43 and I started jumping rope – I had committed to jumping until he said “90” or until the 12 minutes was up.  I was able to get some consecutive DU’s but I was out of breath and my shoulders were tired that I stopped to take short breaks.  When the time ended I had completed 150 wall balls, and somehow managed 60 DUs for a total of 210 reps.

I had really wanted to finish the DUs and have a chance to try a MU (muscle up), but I didn’t.  Am I disappointed in myself?  A little, but I know that I’m not great at DUs and I know why the WBs were more challenging than when I had previously done Karen (150 WBs to an 8ft target for time – I got 5:30 back in February).   I didn’t quit during the WOD or even think about it and I didn’t get upset which I am thrilled about!  I just kept going which is something I pride myself in.  I also realized that I need to start pushing myself a bit harder in class so that I can continue to build my strength.  A friend and I committed to doing 3 sets of 10 WBs with a 20lb ball before/after each class just to improve our strength.  I’m hoping I can move forward from this and not let the rest of the Open get the best of me.

Back to eats: I had a Post WOD shake with 1 scoop Chocolate Progenex and water and snacked on a handful of almonds/raisins and an orange once I got home.

I didn’t take a picture of dinner because my phone was upstairs, but we cooked up a staple: sausage, onions, and peppers.  We used 4 sausage links, 4 peppers, 1 onion, and 1 can tomato paste and had enough for 2 servings of dinner and 2 servings for leftovers.  I also had a side kale salad with grape tomatoes, 1 tsp olive oil, and 1 tbs Tessemae’s Italian dressing.

I managed to starve off after dinner cravings and only had one bite of cookie dough, but was admittedly hungry going to sleep

#Weekly14: 11.60

#220beforeIDo: 32.415

 

Leave a Reply

