Monday at Home

Even though it’s technically spring, mother nature had other ideas and dumped a few inches of snow on us yesterday which meant I was off for the day. Although I really didn’t want a snow day, it gave me time to do some extra things around the house.

I had the time to make a breakfast tortilla: 1 egg with 2 egg-whites, topped with leftover pulled pork/tomato mix and 1/4 avocado. Yum! I also took the time to foam roll and stretch throughout the morning. My legs were sore from 13.3, but not to the point where I couldn’t walk up the stairs. I incorporated some squats and yoga moves to help loosen my legs for a workout later. I felt hungry through the morning, probably lingering from last night, so I had a Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar around 10am. I’ve never had this flavor and I really enjoyed it! I enjoyed leftovers for lunch: venison sausage with peppers, onion, and tomatoes with a kale salad topped with grape tomatoes, almonds, olive oil, and Tessemae’s Italian dressing.

I foam rolled some more and did some squats in preparation for class.  I also ate an apple and mixed up a smoothie with spinach, 1/2c almond milk, 1 scoop progenex, 4 strawberries, 1/2 frozen banana, and 1 scoop of almond butter.

I had hoped to get outside for a walk, but the rain/slow/slush deterred me so I got to class a bit early to row 1 mile.  Class included lots of stretching and a great WOD! It has just the right amount of awesome and suck 🙂

15 Clean & Jerk (95# RX – I did 85#)
50 each pull ups / push ups / sit ups / squats
15 Clean & Jerk (95# RX – I did 85#)

The 85# for C&J was great because I could do it, but they weren’t fast and I had to focus on my form.  I could tell when I really used my hips on the clean because it was so much easier.  I need to work on really squatting under the bar on the jerks.  I had hoped to do 5 sets of 10 unbroken pull-ups (my strength) and didn’t make that, but managed to finish them at a good pace.  Push Ups suck.  They are hard for me no matter what.  I barely make it to 10 without needing a break and my reps per set decreasing quickly.  The squats hurt, but were probably good after 150 wall balls on Sunday.  I loved this WOD because it made me feel like myself at the gym again.  My time was 15:12.

At my coach’s recommendation, I had a shake after with 1 scoop Progenex and water.

Skinnytaste’s Picadillo had been cooking in the crockpot all day so I just needed to steam some cauliflower and then cut it into rice-sized pieces.  I added some Kerrygold, salt, pepper, and Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute to flavor it.  I served it up in a bowl and was very satisfied, but was easily talked into a fruit stick from the grocery store.  Sigh.  I won’t include my stats each time (because I don’t have time to do it everyday), but figure I’ll include it when I can just to check in with my daily eats.

Calories: 1980 (I feel like I ate a TON)

Fat: 80g (yikes, this is still scary)

Carbohydrates: 191g

Protein: 147g

#Weekly14: 1

#220beforeIDo: 33.415

 

Leave a Reply

