Helping Boston & Attempting ‘Eva’

As you may have noticed, I’m working on setting daily goals for myself. On Wednesday I wanted to get in two workouts and avoid the sugar at work. I felt like a zombie when my alarm went off, but getting outside in the fresh air and moving my legs really helped!

This is not a political blog, but I feel compelled to post a little of my thoughts regarding Monday’s tragedy. I know a lot of people have been suggesting to walk/run 2.62 miles or 26:2 minutes in honor of the people suffering from the Boston Marathon Bombings. Initially I wanted to meet that time goal during my walk on Wednesday morning, but during that walk I realized that for me, this isn’t the best way to honor those who are suffering. I would have walked this morning even if the tragic events of Monday hadn’t happened. For me, I’d feel like I was honoring the people who have been injured or lost their lives by giving blood, volunteering at a future race, or raising money for a charity that works to aid injured athletes, provide prosthetic limbs, or work directly with victims of the bombing. If you are also interested, here are a few links that I found:

http://onefundboston.org/
http://www.redcross.org/charitable-donations
http://www.danabowman.com/bank_foundation.php
http://www.achillesinternational.org/
http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/04/16/17779635-26acts2-acts-of-kindness-in-the-wake-of-the-boston-marathon-tragedy?lite

My breakfast was a Chipotle Egg Scramble with 2 eggs, 3 egg whites, broccoli, peppers, venison sausage, and salsa. Savory and delicious! I’ve been feeling bored with my water lately so I added a chopped strawberry and a lemon slice to make my own strawberry lemonade water. It worked because I had drank about 40 oz by lunchtime! My lunch ended up being awesome and really hit the spot! I love when you throw together meals and the flavors just work really well together. I had mixed greens topped with italian spiced chicken, carrots, 1/4 avocado, raisins, almonds and Tessemae’s Italian dressing. I made it through the lunch break without venturing towards any jelly beans. The previous days, I didn’t have a specific goal to not eat any so it wasn’t on my mind when I grabbed a handful. However, today my goal was on my mind all day and it helped me to maintain focus in accomplishing it.

I knew we had a long WOD today so I was especially glad that I had both a Larabar and an apple before going to the gym.

WOD: “EVA”
5 rounds

800m run
30 KB Swings (16kg Rx)
30 Pull-Ups

I figured that if my runs averaged to be 10 min miles (I’m sure I’d need some time to catch my breath after each strength piece) and if each weights portion took 4 minutes (probably an estimation on the low end) then it would take me 45 minutes to complete this WOD. Wow!

We did a brief warm-up and a few athletes from another local box were present and somehow that made me nervous. When the WOD started I was able to zone out and just complete the run and the reps. My runs weren’t very fast, but I did the first two sets of KB swings unbroken. After the first round I had to break up the pull-ups into groups of 2 or 3, but I didn’t take long breaks which kept me moving at a decent pace. The box had put a 35 minute cap on the workout (even our coach finished in more than that), but I was able to complete 4 rounds in about 37:30 which I was fairly pleased with. I wanted to finish the workout (even after the 35-minute cap), but I ripped my right hand on the second pull-up of the 4th round and ripped my left hand at about the 25th pull-up of the fourth round.

I had a post-WOD shake with progenex and some raisins while dinner was cooking.  I spent the rest of my evening looking at websites about how to properly care for rips. I washed them with soap and water (Yoooowww!) and showered with plastic bags over my hands. I put some Neosporin on them and covered them with band-aids for the night. I was very cautious cooking dinner, but loved every bite of the recipe! I made Spicy Thai Basil Chicken and made a few substitutions (coconut oil for canola oil, tamari for soy sauce, omit brown sugar, 2Tbs dried basil for 1c fresh). I served it over a cabbage slaw with some avocado.

Asian Cabbage Slaw

3 Tbs rice vinegar
2 Tbs olive oil
1 Tbs sesame oil
2 Tbs cilantro
1 tsp red chile paste
1 bag pre-chopped cabbage

Mix first 5 ingredients together, pour over cabbage, and toss to coat. Refrigerate 30 minutes before serving.

After dinner, I made a cup of cinnamon tea, but fell asleep before I drank it. I guess ‘Eva’ really took it out of me!

#Weekly14: 5.91

#220beforeIDo: 85.2725

Leave a Reply

