5 Day Slim Down

Since I’m getting married on June 22nd, I’ve been thinking about what I can do to look my best of the big day. I am not a person who does last minute crash dieting so I knew I needed to start early with my healthy habits. I didn’t start Crossfit with the intent of preparing for the wedding, but it’s made the biggest change on my physique. I have arm muscles and back muscles – things I’ve never had before and wasn’t able to get by running alone. I moved to a Paleo-ish diet in November just to try it. It didn’t happen overnight, but I’ve been able to wean myself off of dairy, grains, and legumes. I still indulge in alcohol and sugar, but limit the alcohol and have recently gotten better at lowering with my sugar intake. However, I’m still looking for something that will make me feel my absolute best on wedding day. Tone It Up features a 5 Day Slim Down and a 7 Day Slim Down to get yourself ready for an event. I had attempted the 5DSD last spring, but felt tired and didn’t have enough energy for an afternoon workout. I don’t want to feel tired, hungry, or deprived at all!  I like working out and I would rather eat an extra meal and workout than skip both the meal and workout.

Last week I reviewed my Tone It Up Plan and decided that if I wanted this plan to work for the wedding, it’d be best to do a trial run because no one wants to have a hungry stressed bride-to-be! I also realized that I might need to modify the plan on days that I attend Crossfit so that I don’t pass out. I planned my meals, made the grocery list, and had planned to start on Monday. Then, the competition happened this weekend and I was exhausted when I finally got home Sunday night and knew it was more important to spend some QT with my fiance than make meals for the next day. So, here I am, starting on Tuesday … kinda.

Without revealing all of the details of the slim down, the premise focuses on two workouts a day, lots of liquids, and natural unprocessed foods. I was still feeling exhausted from the weekend and chose to sleep an extra 20 minutes and skip a morning workout. So, I officially started my 5DSD with a fail. Oh well!

I made a protein pancake for breakfast with a few blueberries on top and ate it in a jar of almond butter that was nearly empty. I also had another great Meta-D, I love the Bragg’s Organic Apple Cider Vinegar!

My mid-day eats included an orange, 1/2 Kombucha (the Guava Goddess is my new favorite flavor), a spinach salad with tuna, carrots, and almonds, a Larabar, and a Vita Coco.  That sounds like a lot and the Larabar was only with me as a back-up in case I was super hungry.  I”m glad I did!

I was definitely ready for my afternoon smoothie and it helped to fill me.  The smoothie  wasn’t quite what the plan recommended, but it was so amazing that I have to share.  It took me a while to place the flavor, but my future Mother-in-Law makes a Frozen Pineapple Pie every summer at the shore and this tasted exactly like it!  I may make this every night of the summer for dessert!

Frozen Pineapple Pie Smoothie

1 can full fat coconut milk
1 can crushed pineapple (with juice)
1 scoop protein powder
2 Tbs Flax seed

Blend. Makes 2 servings. I froze mine for a few hours and then drank it as it thawed.

Despite Crossfitting my face off this weekend, I couldn’t wait to go back.  I was craving the workout high that I felt in the competition and couldn’t wait to see my ‘team.’  I realized that I felt a special bond with my fellow weekend competitors similar to that of a youth summer camp.  The 6:30 class didn’t disappoint and the workout was perfect to ease back into normal training.  The warm-up worked on some stretching and I realized that certain areas were more sore than I had noticed, like that space in front of your armpits – whew!  A few push ups and I was hurting!

WOD

5 rounds
10 Deadlifts (65#)
7 Hang Cleans (65#)
5 Push Presses (65#)
* The entire workout should be completed without putting down the bar.  Each time you release the bar you stop at do 5 burpees *

After 15 x 225# deadlifts, the Rx 65# sounded like cake, but I knew the push presses would get heavy, but I went with it anyways.  I was very proud that I didn’t drop the bar (I did put it on my back after the third and fourth round just to give my forearms a break and re-grip) and I finished in 5:30.  I took some extra time to foam roll at the end.

Dinner was already prepped when I got home: grilled pork chops and roasted brussels sprouts.  I topped my pork with 1/4 avocado and ate my apple for dessert.

#Weekly14: 2.60

#220beforeIDo: 102.4725

Leave a Reply

