Cindy = Progress

The start of Day 2 of the 5 Day Slim Down started with a 1.4 mile walk, veggies and scrambled eggs, and a motivational quote.

The hardest part of this whole thing has been getting through the morning.  Once I’ve eaten lunch I have other things to occupy my mind and I haven’t been hungry or tired, but lunch seems to take forever to arrive!  I had the other half of my Guava Goddess Kombucha in the morning followed by a pear.  It’s been so long since I’ve eaten a pear and it did not disappoint!  Lunch was made of leftover pork and brussels sprouts on top of spinach with some Tessemae’s Zesty Ranch.

I had a Pineapple Vita Coco after lunch and a Frozen Pineapple Pie Smoothie which was just as good as the first one.  You should make it … now.  I am happy to report that it left me with enough energy for a 20-minute WOD at Crossfit.  There were two exciting moments yesterday: The first one was when I was locked inside the box alone – I never would have guessed that would ever happen.  The second was when I crushed my previous ‘Cindy’ time and was able to reflect on how much I have progressed since October!

WOD: “Cindy”

20 minute AMRAP
5 Pull-Ups
10 Push-Ups
15 Air Squats

First let me say that 20 minutes is a long time in the CrossFit world.  According to the myWOD app, I completed Cindy on October 19, 2012.  I remember doing it and being exhausted after about 10 minutes.  I used a blue (medium) resistance band to help with pull-ups and did the push-ups on my knees.  I completed 12 rounds.

Obviously my goal yesterday was to beat that score, but it’s also worth acknowledging that I was now able to complete this WOD as prescribed so even a tying score would have demonstrated progress.  As expected, the pull-ups and air squats were easy, but the push-ups were challenging.  After the first round of push-ups I felt spent so I had to break them up into sets of 2.  That is something I’d love to get better at!  I finished with 15 full rounds + 5 pull-ups + 6 push-ups.  It felt good.

We didn’t have time for the strength portion of the class, but I went for a 1 mile walk with a friend after class.  With the walk and a 400m warm up row, I am adding a total of 2.65 miles to my weekly totals.

I came home and had a Progenex shake, mixed with water, because my muscles still aren’t feeling 100%.  This wasn’t part of the 5DSD, but I felt like my body needed it.  I also had a few other ‘extras’ in my evening like the almonds and raisins that I ate while dinner was cooking. I’m happy to say I only had what was pictured!  I drank some Chocolate Zico with dinner.  There was about 1/3 of the carton left so I finished it.

Dinner was amazing and lean, clean, and green!  I made Cajun Shrimp Stir-Fry from the Beach Babe Edition of the Tone It Up Plan and served it over broccoli slaw.  This was a huge bowl of food!  I finished my evening with a sweet apple because I love them so much.

#Weekly14: 5.25

#220beforeIDo: 105.1225

 

I’m going to end today with a question just because I’m curious …

When was the last time that you realized you were making progress in your healthy journey? 

 

Leave a Reply

