Beach Babe DVD Review

Tuesdays are my long day at work so any workout I get has to be in the morning.  I got started on the HIIT the Beach segment on the Tone It Up Beach Babe DVD.  By the end of the 20 minutes I had definitely broken a sweat and was breathing hard!   The routine has 4 different HIIT segments where you do four high intensity movements for 15 seconds each.  Between each HIIT piece you do two toning moves to keep your heart rate up.  There is a quick stretch at the end, but this would be great if followed by my favorites: Bikini Abs and/or Long & Lean.

The DVD has 7 total segments (Bikini Abs, Bikini Arms, Bikini Booty, Long & Lean, Surfer Girl, Bikini Sculpt, and HIIT).  The first four segments target a particular body part and are between 10-15 minutes.  The last three are full body sculpting, toning, or cardio, and are anywhere from 20-40 minutes.  I used to do the Bikini Sculpt often, but now that I go to CrossFit I stick with the Bikini Abs, Long & Lean, or HIIT.  The Bikini Abs is great because it gave me a ton of new moves that worked my core without doing crunches.  (Note: Several of the moves in the Ab Circuit are TIU moves!)  I have done the Long & Lean so many times that I have it memorized, but it’s great for stretching the shoulders and opening the hips.

My overall review: Get the DVD!   Amazon has it for $31 and it’s worth the money!   While the routines may be short, don’t let that fool you.  I remember the first time I did the Bikini Arms and the girls said they were using 3lb weights, I laughed.  My lowest weights at home are 5lbs and my arms were shaking before we made it through the first circuit.  Katrina & Karena know what they are doing and give you a good workout while keeping your body guessing and keeping you entertained.  They are funny and really make you feel comfortable.  You can tell that they are breathing hard to so you don’t feel so bad about pushing through the pain.  They also give a lot of modifications if you need to use them.  Let me know if you have any questions about the DVD.  Stay tuned because the girls also have another DVD coming out later this year.

After my workout I ate a delicious pancake with blueberries and almond butter.  I hate using my Progenex in pancakes because that stuff is expensive so this morning I used a whole banana and extra egg-whites for my pancake batter.  I also had my morning Meta-D.

Lunch was a repeat from Monday: broccoli slaw topped with venison sausage, almonds, raisins, and Tessemae’s Zesty Ranch. I had an uber Larabar and apple in the afternoon and was so grateful when I got home and dinner was already on the stove.  We made ground venison with squash, zucchini, tomatoes, and pesto.  I topped mine with half a slice of Laughing Cow Herb cheese and had a salad on the side.

I had requested some dairy-free ‘yogurt’ to try to make ‘Ice cream Pops’ for last weeks 5 Day Slim Down, but my lovely shopper got my Greek yogurt instead.  I didn’t want it to go to waste so I decided to break out the ice cream maker and make some frozen yogurt for my fiance.  Unfortunately, I didn’t read directions so the mixer got stuck and it didn’t go as planned. We did end up with some plain greek yogurt mixed with chocolate cocoa, honey, and peanut butter (about 1 Tbs of each) which is now in the freezer.  During my trials, I took several samples which probably amounted to something that should be classified as dessert.

#Weekly14: 2.25

#220beforeIDo: 113.065

Leave a Reply

