Fabulous Food & Fitness Friday

We had a professional development day yesterday so I was able to sleep in a bit and get in a solid morning workout.  After my less than desireable run on Thursday, I was ready to get out there and come back strong.  I’d like to say that I decided to run tech-free because I wanted to focus on running, but I actually made a mistake on my iPhone wifi settings and am almost out of my monthly data and totally forgot the GPS watch.  I pretty much knew the mileage of my route, but used myfavoritrun.com to verify that I did a 5K in 30 minutes, including stopping for traffic.  I didn’t feel amazing, but it felt good.  I didn’t have the desire to stop like I did on Thursday so that’s a plus!

It took me a while to figure out what I wanted for breakfast, but I made a batch of Oatmeal Minus the Oats with a big blob of sunflower butter.  I had a ton of errands to run, some with coworkers, so I took a cup of iced coffee with me sweetened with one packet of Stevia and some SO Delicious Hazelnut ‘creamer.’

We had lunch at a local restaurant, Little Havana, which has amazing mojitos and a great patio.  I passed on the mojito, but really enjoyed my Papaya Salmon Salad: “Grilled salmon fillet on a bed of mixed greens with tomatoes, cucumbers and sunflower seeds drizzled with a papaya vinaigrette and finished with queso fresco.”  I finished every last bite!  It was refreshing and left me feeling satisfied, but not too full.  I had an apple and a larabar in the afternoon and went to CrossFit.

As soon I saw the WOD, I knew it would be a tough one for me based on the format.

WOD

50-40-30-20-10
Pull-Ups
Air Squats
* Run 200m every 3 minutes *

If you take too much of a break, you’ll be running a ton and it’ll seem like it never ends.  I had anticipated it would take me about 25-30 minutes, and I knew a lot of it would depend on how the first chunk of 50 went.  I was able to finish the first 50 pull-ups and air squats in the first 3 minute block so I felt optimistic from there!  I think I lucked out with timing, because I feel like the runs came at the perfect time and I would just finish something before the run so my arms had enough of a break before the next set of pull-ups.  I was the first one finished at class (and at the box so far that day) with a time of 16:59.  I ran a total of 5 times + the warm-up for a total of 1200m.  My criticism of myself is that I may not have gotten full extensions at the top of the air squat.  I was rushing to get some of the sets finished before a run and I think I went down too fast.  I realized it on the set of 30 and tried to hold myself more accountable for the end.  I want to make sure I practice good movement standards so that I never hear the words “No Rep” during a competition.  That’s the worst!

I was elated about the workout, but my hands were not. I ripped (again) on both hands (again) in the exact same spots as last month.  Luckily it was on the set of 20 and I felt OK finishing the workout, but I almost cried when I washed my hands.  Have you ever showered with plastic bags on your hand?  That’s not fun 🙂

I had to chaperone the Prom last night so a few of us met for dinner before hand.  I had a glass of wine, a small slice of brown soda bread, and a burger (without the bun) topped with avocado, bacon, lettuce, tomato, onion, and a side of broccoli.  There was a ton of food at the dance, but I settled for a plate of raw veggies with some spinach and artichoke dip and two handfuls of trail mix with yogurt covered raisins, raisins, pumpkin seeds, almonds, peanuts, and chocolate.   I don’t know if I could have stayed up until midnight without it!

Now that I look back on it, yesterday was a fabulous day on all fronts 🙂

#Weekly14: 12.945

#220beforeIDo: 133.925

6 responses

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking
    about, why throw away your intelligence on just
    posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

    • Thanks for the feedback. I assume you are talking about the post with the videos on muscle-up progressions? I’m not a certified coach nor can I complete muscle-ups so I don’t consider myself to be an ‘expert’ on the subject. Since I’m still learning, I thought I would share some tools that I was utilizing in my learning process.

  2. Excellent site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any forums
    that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get responses from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

  3. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of
    content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. Simply want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness in your post is simply nice and i can assume
    you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep
    updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

