Checking in With My Goals

I’ve been writing this post in my head for over a week now, but am just now getting it down in print.

I created a list of my fitness goals a few weeks ago and while I’ve been giving a lot in the gym, a few weekends out of town led to several consecutive days without workouts and completely dropping my positive nutritional habits which all created one awful workout yesterday.

I’ve been practicing my double unders and despite a string of 20 last week, I couldn’t get more than 2 in a WOD yesterday that called for 400. A few coaches have shared tips and links to various tutorial sites and I think I need to work on my jump and learn the rhythm of DU’s without worrying about counting. Believe it or not, I have a lot of trouble counting & jumping at the same time.

Last week, our box moved into a new space and it is amazing!  It’s huge which gives us a lot of space to workout.  We are also in an old warehouse so there are no neighbors to complain if we drop weight.  It’s been 6 months of not being able to drop weight!!  Our WOD’s were limited because of our old space and we jumped into the new box by working on our 1RM clean & jerk and completing Grace (30 Clean & Jerks @ 95lbs).  I was pleased to complete a sub-5-minute Rx Grace (4:56), but was disappointed that I couldn’t get the 125lb jerk, something I did back in April.

We worked on front squats today (Warm-Up with 3 sets of 5, then do 5 reps at 75%, 80%, and 85% of your 1RM).  I accidentally had 5lbs too many on for my last set, but had to bail out on my 4th rep.  I know that my strength is not where it was a few months ago and that is incredibly frustrating.

Yesterday we completed a Hero WOD, Bull, and while I never like to complain about Hero WOD’s (they are named after fallen Hero’s who have died fighting for our country so what right do I have to complain about struggling through a workout), but this one really got the best of me.

Bull

2 rounds:

200 DU’s
50 OHS (95lbs)
50 Pull Ups
1 mile Run

We put a 35-minute cap on it to accommodate the 1-hour class so I knew I wouldn’t finish, but I wish things had gone better.  I planned on Rx-ing the jump rope portion even if it took me a long time, but I quickly got frustrated when I couldn’t string together more than 2 or 3 DU’s in a row.  By 7:30 I had completed 100 DU’s and most of my classmates were on the later parts of the workout.  I felt defeated and never got my head back in the game.  I switched to singles (3:1), but it was too late to pick up any ground.  There were several times where I wanted to throw in the towel, I stopped several times on the run and was on the brink of tears.  I finished one round and got in 92 singles on round 2.

The worst part is that I said several awful things to myself during the workout … “You don’t deserve to do well on this” and “You earned this bad workout” insinuating that my nutritional choices over the long weekend are what caused the poor performance.  Let me clearly state that I don’t support negative self talk and realize it’s something that I need to work on in my own mental game.  I know it’s something that a lot of women struggle with.  However, I also know that for me, CrossFit is not something I can do half-heartedly.  Eating right makes me feel better and when I feel better, I workout better.  I am competitive, one reason I love CrossFit and know I can be good at it, and I want to do well.  For me, that means consistently working out and eating right so that I can continue to improve.

So, what am I doing about it?  I’m committing o three weeks of 4-5 WOD’s a week until we leave for the honeymoon.  I’m also committing to a 90/10 Paleo lifestyle.  I’ve figured that works out to 2 cheat meals a week (1 can be a breakfast or lunch and the other can be a dinner) and 1 sweet treat a week.  I’ve stuck to it so far and you know I enjoy having some parameters to guide me.  I’m also going to continue practicing my double unders and pushing myself on weights.

Success

Leave a Reply

