My Favorite Summer Breakfast – Paleo Style!

It is a good day over here!  Yes, it’s over 100 degrees and my neighbor’s house has been under construction for over a week, but I had a major lightbulb moment today!  I love all breakfast foods and my favorite summer breakfast is a yogurt bowl topped with fresh fruit and granola.  It’s so refreshing and a great way to enjoy seasonal fruits.  I love the crunch of granola in the yogurt.  Yum!  However, when I went Paleo earlier this year, yogurt went on the ‘no list.’  Froyo will make an appearance and occasional cheese, but I haven’t brought myself to eat a cup of yogurt.  (Yea, I don’t get it either)  So, no yogurt means, no yogurt bowl.

Until … today!

Our local grocery store started carrying SO DELICIOUS cultured coconut milk which is the same consistency as yogurt.  I tried one last week and it was really good!  In a blind taste test, I would not have known the difference between this and our store brand greek yogurt, seriously!   Enter the ideas of yogurt bowl 🙂

 Screen shot 2013-07-16 at 3.46.22 PM

Source

The second required item is obviously the granola which poses a few more challenges.  Although there are brands that carry gluten-free granola, but gluten-free does not mean Paleo.  I found this great recipe for ‘Better than Granola Paleo Granola” and the final result is true to his name – amazing!  The recipe was really pretty easy as long as you have a food processor.  I used my Magic Bullet which did a little too much to the nuts, but worked great on the date liquid.  I also substituted sunflower seeds (no need to chop) instead of hazelnuts to cut down on the cost a bit.  Coincidentally, my grocery store was out of fresh dates so I had to buy the packaged pitted ones … best.idea.ever!  My granola could have been cooked a bit longer to add more crunch (I went the full 20 minutes + a few extra), but my oven always takes a bit longer on recipes.

Make this recipe, STAT!  I want to go eat some more right now just thinking about it.

Ok, back to the breakfast bowl!  The yogurt and granola are really the key, but I’ll tell you what else I added to mine.  Obviously, the combinations are endless!

Yogurt Bowl

SO DELICIOUS Cultured Coconut Milk
Chia Seeds (mix with ‘yogurt’ and let sit for a while to bulk up the mixture)
Chocolate Protein syrup (mix one scoop of protein powder – I use Progenex – with a Tbs of almond milk until it’s a thick)
1 Peach
1/4c Blueberries
1/2c Paleo Granola

Aaah, Enjoy & You’re Welcome!

Leave a Reply

